4 Josiah Tongogara AveHarare, Zimbabwe
Call Us+263 86 77007101
Work HoursMon – Fri: 8am–5pm

ICZ Committees

The ICZ committees occupy a crucial role in assisting Council deliver on its mandate and value proposition. The committees are made up of member company representatives who volunteer their time, knowledge and skills to support ICZ initiatives on behalf of the industry.”

Executive Committee (EXCO)
The Executive Committee (EXCO) oversees the operations of Council and each member is represented by the Chief Executive Officer of the member company in the committee. The Executive Committee comprises of representatives from member companies.


Management & Finance Committee
The Management and Finance Committee oversees the operations of ICZ and comprises of the following Members for the period July 2020 to June 2021.

Chairperson – Mr Panganai Sanangurai (MD Allied Insurance)
Vice Chairman – Patrick Kusikwenyu (MD of Sanctuary Insurance Company)
Immediate Past Chairman – Musa Bako (Managing Director of FBC Insurance Company)
Member – Mr David Nyabadza (MD Nicoz Diamond Insurance)
Member – Ms Sekai Chirume (MD Export Credit Guarantee Corporation)
Member – Mr Leo T Huvaya (MD Emeritus Reinsurance)
Member – Mr James Mharadze (MD CBZ Insurance)
Member – Mr Brilliant Shumba (MD ZB Reinsurance)
ICZ Secretariat
Executive Officer – Tendai Karonga
Head of Finance And Administration – Nyaradzo Faith Tirivanhu
Head Of Operations – Nicholas Sayi

Non-Life Advisory Committee
Non-Life Advisory Committee provides the link for discussions with the Commissioner of Insurance and Pensions Commission.

Public Relations Committee
Public Relations Committee is responsible for all aspects of stakeholder interaction, brand management, marketing and events management.

Technical Committee
Technical Committee provides technical support on all aspects of short term insurance.

Complaints & Compliance Committee
Complaints & Compliance Committee attends to general complaints on short term insurance activities and also deals with members who are in breach of Council’s collective agreements.

Motor Insurance Pool
Motor Insurance Pool Committee controls the Pool that provides short term motor third party insurance to foreign registered vehicles which are from countries that are not in the COMESA region. These insurance cover is issued at the border through ZIMRA, the only official agent.

Chairman – Sekai Chirume (Managing Director of ECGC)


National Bureau of Zimbabwe (COMESA Yellow Card)
National Bureau of Zimbabwe Committee is a COMESA Yellow Card representative. The Bureau is responsible for the administration of the Yellow Card Scheme including settlement of third party claims for vehicles from the COMESA region within Zimbabwe.

Chairman – James Mharadze (Managing Director of CBZ Insurance Company)


Special Risks Pool Consortium
Special Risks Pool Committee underwrites risks for which cover is not available on the market and classified under “Special Risks” e.g. Security companies Professional Indemnity and Commuter Omnibus Passenger No Fault Personal Accident Cover.

Chairman – Noel Manika (General Manager Nicoz Diamond Insurance Company)


Short Term Liaison Committee
Short Term Liaison Committee discusses matters and influences decisions on common matters and interests between underwriters and Zimbabwe Brokers Association (ZIBA).

Bulawayo Chapter
Bulawayo Chapter attends to matters relevant to the industry in the Southern region of the country and provides input to Council.

Motor Insurance Bureau Committee
Motor Insurance Bureau Committee deals with the handling uninsured motor claims, for third parties, in line with an agreement with government.

Zimbabwe Insurance Crimes Bureau (ZICB)
ICZ oversees the operation of the Bureau formed to investigate and prosecute perpetrators of insurance fraudulent transactions in the short-term insurance sector.

Zimbabwe Association of Reinsurance Offices (ZARO)
Chairman – Leo T Huvaya (Managing Director of Emeritus Re)

Fire Prevention and Inspection Bureau (FPIB)
Chairman – Ushe Mungaraza (Managing Director of Tropical Re)

Get a Free Quote Today!